Potentially illegitimate branding | WordPress.org

Hi – maybe this is for the Automattic legal team, but I didn’t find a forum specifically created for reports of potentially-illegitimate practices.

This is a question regarding misuse of trademark/branding.

I found this website:
Is this a legit branding?

Also, they make their clients put the following misleading text into their website’s folder:
“Supported By WordPress Official Customer Support” – where the link points to _their_ website, of course.

Is this a legitimate practice? I know that there are hundreds or thousands of various agencies and other businesses using the ‘WP’ string in their brand name – but this one seems to me seriously misleading.

Thanks in advance for your feedback on this.

  • This topic was modified 22 minutes ago by James Huff.
  • This topic was modified 15 minutes ago by James Huff. Reason: scam links removed


This site will teach you how to build a WordPress website for beginners. We will cover everything from installing WordPress to adding pages, posts, and images to your site. You will learn how to customize your site with themes and plugins, as well as how to market your site online.

Buy WordPress Transfer